Thinking of stepping into Vinyl - player recommendations

If you had a budget of between 15-20k - what would your player recommendations be? (with a NAP500/NAC552/ND555 currently). Bear in mind, I dont like “upgrades”, would prefer something the best it can be out the box, so to speak.

I also dont know what I would need - assume most players need a power supply for the motor etc? (I am abit of a noob here, so guidance is definitvely needed).

My dad used to have a LP12 (fully upgraded circa 17k and sounded unbelievable) but I am not a Linn fan (with all their horrific customer service problems with the Komri’s and overheating drive units and their general 10 year “that’s it” policy on parts etc).

1 Like

If you’re starting from scratch (sorry), then you’d be wise to set aside at least half your budget for LPs, and if you buy the right deck/arm/cartridge and phono stage then be prepared to spend that LP budget along with much, much more as you’ll be wanting to buy lots and lots of lovely vinyl records.

4 Likes

Clearaudio makes outstanding turntables, that once setup properly are pretty much forget it and play it.

I have a Clearaudio Ovation with a Clearaudio Universal tonearm, a Dynavector XV-1s cartridge and a Herron Audio VTPH-2a phonostage. The retail price for that in the U.S. is $20K, well within your budget and it will gel with a 500 series system very nicely. You might even step up from the Ovation to an Innovation Compact for another $2000 US.

The Herron phonostage is more readily available in the US, but a Naim Superline is in roughly the same price range.

1 Like