UnitCore or not to Uniticore

Having invested in a MuSo and a MusoQB now I have the plan of what to do with 100s of CDs. I use apple lossless for now over wifi and i works pretty consistent. I’m new to it so I guess it will break at some point.
In the meantime the units are in different rooms to the internet router and very little chance of running Ethernet to both. I saw the UnitCore and loved the look. Sat next to the MuSo.
My wife is not technical she like the Naim app on the iPad and would like the romantic notion of flicking through her old CD collections and taking a load off and just having some simple listening time.

I have search and there are PC, MAc, Innus and a whole host of other solutions including NAS and bits. But I just want it to be simple, work well but not cost a fortune. I know Naim is not cheap. I looked at the BlueSound Vault but for the price a refurb Core is so so much nicer looking. But I think more proprietary the way it stores stuff.

Would love to have a very strong opinionated set of answers :-). Just don’t want to go to a dealer and be sold to.

There are lots of rational arguments for this option and that option, but personally if a burglar broke in and stole my UnitiCore tonight, I would be ordering another one as soon as my local Naim dealer next opened.

3 Likes

I really like my Core, but wonder if it’s overkill in your situation. It doesn’t play CDs as such, you rip the CD then stream it to the Muso/Qb and the Core needs to be wired to your router to then connect wirelessly to the Muso/Qb. It won’t just play a CD direct to the Muso. You might be better just streaming from the web?

1 Like

I used a Synology NAS when I first started ripping my CDs and as a Computer numpty struggled at times. When Naim introduced the Core I ordered one as I liked the ease and simplicity of the ripping process no computers involved.