Uniti Core - Downloads Folder - Numpty Question

Hi, I need some basic advice. Have had a core for a few months, then transferred all my music from my unitiserve, and am ripping CDs all perfectly. So now I want to investigate downloading music rather than buying physical product, but I am a novice in this area.

A while back I bought a hi-res copy of 50 words for snow and it sits on a USB stick, the files look like this when I view the stick on my laptop

The PDF file has album artwork.

So when I plug the USB stick in my core and upload the files they then appear in a folder with no artist or album name. They play absolutely fine. But I don’t want to end up with unnamed albums and artists on my core in the downloads folder.

The core seems to give me no option to edit the files through the Naim app, in terms of adding artist name or album. It does allow me to change the name of the track, but nothing else.

Do I need to do something to the files on the USB stick before I plug into the core? Is there something obvious I am missing? Thanks.

Hi, I think you have just discovered that Naim servers can only edit metadata on CDs that they have ripped. For anything in the Downloads folder, you need to use a third party metadata editor such as MP3tag (Windows) or Metadatics (Mac) and it’s good practice to do this as soon as you download an album, although it can be done later if necessary.

1 Like

It’s as Chris says:

However you can also make a folder called Kate Bush on your PC with a sub-folder 50 words for Snow then put all the music files in that folder. You put the cover art alongside the music files in a file called folder.jpg or cover.jpg. Then you copy the whole lot into the downloads folder of the Core. I know this does work for this album because I did exactly that with the high res version of that album.

The album sounds sensational by the way.

Best

David