Upgrading from Kanta 1s to Kanta 2s - maybe

So I think I’m trying to talk myself out of upgrading my speakers which I’ve only just had for about 10 months and I’m very impressed with. But my dealer has presented me with an opportunity to upgrade to the No.2s for $2k (the difference in retail is $3k and I paid considerably less than retail for the No.1s)

I would have to convince the wife on moving from standmount speakers to floorstanders in the living room (she already thinks the No.1s are “big”)

Space is a bit tight (speakers are close to the wall) so a bit concerned what that means for the bass.

But dang having that greater bass extension and fuller sound sure is appealing.

Curious on folks thoughts or if anyone has the Kanta 2s?

Cheers

I have no experience with Kantas but a home demo of any speakers is essential to ensure a good match with your system and your room.

Not sure of your room size and setup but in my modest sized music room (3.5m x 3.5m) I’ve always struggled with volume levels, bass control and imaging with larger speakers. I’ve now moved on to stand mounts (ATC 19s) which are a much better match for my room. There is no way I would go back to floorstanders now.

Why not see if your dealer will let you try the No 2’s at home so you can compare alongside your No 1’s?

1 Like

I have Kanta 2’s and absolutely love them, I like the direction Focal have taken with the Kanta v the other lines (sopra etc which can be a tad analytical).

I have listened to Kanta 1’s and the 2’s have the same signature but as with all speakers you really need a home demo before jumping in.

Gary

1 Like

The new Choral range from Focal are worth a listen, and cheaper