Wall shelf or floor stand for your turntable?

I now have both options for all of my four turntables in both my upstairs system and downstairs AV system.
Although in the downstairs system it has to be a wall shelf due to space.

But I’m wondering what you guys think is best or your preference, I’ve got a couple of wall shelves recently acquired, Apollo) they are ok but I’m not keen on the glass tops.

I also have recently acquired a RATA Torlyte three legged stand (original version) which I believe was a popular choice for my Voyd turntable and many others. I haven’t tried it yet.

So just wondering what is your preference if any?

I prefer what I have… which is more historic, than anything else.

It’s a Sound Factory Tripod Stand:

3 Likes

Depends on how stable your floor or wall is.

2 Likes

I have been using a soundfactory tripod stand for quite a few years now, it’s a later one with three shelves and I picked up a bigger one a few years ago, quite rare to find but very good stands though I’m not keen on the supplied boards, could be better.

Mine is an SF ex-dem one. Just the top & bottom shelves. Its a Turntable stand - not a Rack.

1 Like

In my case not great with either as it’s an old Victorian house.
I’ve mounted both wall shelves now and I just couldn’t get them perfectly level! So the adjustable spikes came to the rescue.

I’m going to experiment a bit with different materials for the baseboards, really don’t like the glass.

Yes not easy to come by,I did used to have an audiotech stand with my old LP12 which was excellent.

1 Like

Try putting a slab on the floor and then putting a stable rack on top of that. This has worked for me previously in a house with suspended floors and weak walls.

1 Like

Interesting idea, I’ll try it with my Torlyte stand, thanks