Which CD player or transport would you add…

…to a fully Naim steaming rig?

My system is centred around an NDX2/XPSDR with the amping supplied by olive ‘82/250 into passive SBLs

However I am thinking of adding a CDp.

I don’t want to spend sh*tloads, and have a mid-90s CD3 I could use if desperate, but was wondering what, in your opinion, would be the best option for a reasonably priced CDp?

Audiolab CDT is the way I’m thinking. Either the 6000 or 9000 if you’re feeling like spending a bit more.

4 Likes

I’ve just purchased in the last week a Roksan Attessa CDT.

It partners with my RA streaming amp. It sounds as good as streams of the same albums, to my ears at least.

Mine was ex demo from a dealer.

I have been using the Audiolab CDT6000 very happily for a couple of years without feeling a strong urge to upgrade. I haven’t heard the 9000 yet though!

5 Likes

Cheers folks! The Audiolab seems to get a lot of love. Interesting ‘cos I was going towards a pre-loved CDX

1 Like

Try the Naim CD5XS if you can find one

I now have mine connected into the NDX2 (dac) which is connected to XPS-2

All sounds pretty good

Not easy to fine though, those that have one tend to hang onto them , they are great value if you can source one

1 Like

I have an 82, 2 x 135 system and have had various CD players from Naim including CD5Si, CDS2 and CDS3. I have sold them all and bought a CDS2 again, which needs a power supply. Tbf I picked it up at a very reasonable price. I have an NDS and 555PS and could have gone down CD transport route. However I love the sound of the CDS2 which sounds like vinyl. I would say it sounds like an old LP12. Love it.

A more neutral sounding Audiolab CDT maybe better financially but I love the Olive character.

And I was looking at the new Audiolab CDT and Cyrus CDT as contenders.

2 Likes

The CD5 XS seem quite pricey, and I’m guessing that one is bypassing much of the internal electronics in order to pass the heavy lifting onto the NDX2?