Why do my Focal Utopia and Spendor A4 speakers sound different?

I am using Focal Utopia and Spendor A4 speakers. I am using the headphone amp in my SN3 with Cardas Clear Beyond Headphone cable. The headphones sound very good as do my speakers. However my A4 speakers sound thinner, with less bass and less midrange presence. The speakers come alive if I turn up the volume and also left right imaging becomes more equal for the speakers if I turn up the volume.

Using an NDX2 with PS that has 300 hours.

I am new to headphones. What is going on. The Utopias also have 300 hours.

I think you will find that the sensitivity of 86db is giving you that thinner sound until you up the volume a bit. Even my Spendor A9’s at 90db sensitivity need the volume dial at 8.45 before they really come alive. Once there though, they fill the room gloriously.

1 Like

All loudspeaker models sound different from one another. Some far more so than others. More than any other system component in a [loudspeaking[ system they set the sound character, and what one person may love another may hate, and vice versa. None is a perfect transducer producing exactly the same sound waves in the room as electrical signals they are fed, and the amount by which they depart from that varies hugely. Whilst I don’t have personal experience of headphones I suspect much the same is true for them. Add to that the fact that the sound you hear from speakers is modified by the room, totally out of the control of the speaker designer. Heads/ears will also vary affecting headphone sound, but with nowhere near as much variability as rooms.