Life after Nova

I have a very simple system - Nova, Powerline, Chord EpicX and Neat XL6. I have come from LP12 62/140, 102/180, HDX nDAC/XPS/282/HC/200 over the space of many years.
I have been pretty happy with the current system but am developing a few problems…
Now entering my 6th decade…I think my hearing is off, just a bit, and I have a degree of hyperacusis with tinnitus. Just mild, but I find myself yearning for something a bit softer, less harsh on the ears, with more delicacy and transparency.

Option 1: Change of speaker. As far as speakers go though, I have always loved the Neats, and am not keen to go down a rabbit hole trying to better them. I don’t think it’s too much of a mullet system, and talking to a Naim factory rep here at a demo of the Nova, he indicated they could handle up to a $20000nzd speaker… The only other speaker I’ve heard that grabbed my attention was a Harbeth 30.2 and I’m wondering if their sweet midrange - where the ear is most sensitive - might be an option. Or Kanta No.2.

Option 2 - move out the Nova. My feelings are that a change to the electronics might be the ticket. I would simply move the Nova to another area, add some Proac Tablets or Falcon LS3/5a and use it for watching tv and background music where there is a Kef LS50W system…
My Naim dealer also has AVM and I’ve had a brief demo. Not enough to be convinced but nice. My thoughts have also drifted to Prima Luna, Hegel, Norma or Accuphase Integrateds with an Auralic front end.

Option 3 would be some way of staying with Naim, without going to the rats nest of multiple boxes. Say Auralic streamer in to Supernait 3.

Everything I’ve mentioned is available locally so I will demo away, but appreciate any advice or thoughts here. I also still have the nDAC in a cupboard somewhere…

Cheers Andrew

1 Like