Naim Newbie and DIN Connections

Shiny newbie here with a Supernait3 on order and waiting for delivery. I generally connect two sources to my integrated - my EAR 834p phonostage and my Chord Qutest DAC. I’ve read many of the past comments on RCA to DIN on the forum, but I’m confused about ordering the correct RCA > DIN cables

I would expect to use the SN3’s “Stream” input for the DAC and the “Aux” input for the EAR phonostage. Do both use the same type of DIN connector? And is that DIN 4?

I’d like to order a pair of RCA > DIN cables but I’m newbie confused about what to spec for the cable build.

The source input DINs are 180 degree DIN5s.

This FAQ should help you;

I would have a look on a well known auction site - plenty of decent used RCA-DIN cables. I’ve bought several Chord ones off there for example…Chord Cobra is a great cable and now discontinued but well worth seeking out.

Chord cables are directional so make sure you get the correct orientation.

As - if I understand right - you want these cables for inputs, you should be fine. That ‘orientation’ (RCA to DIN) is the most common. Had you wanted a lead for an output (DIN to RCA), thats where you need to take care.

Use any of these 4 din inputs; cd, tuner, stream, av.
Aux is best avoided as it is a powered socket designed to connect the Naim stageline and superline phono stages.

And just in case you don’t know - yes the din sockets (and the power supply socket) are supposed to be wobbly. For source components, don’t connect the din locking collar, leave it loose.

1 Like

Naim make excellent standard ‘lavender’ RCA phono to Din cables. They cost a very reasonable £115 and sound excellent. You can order them from your Naim dealer. If you are tempted to buy expensive leads, live with your existing RCA leads and then borrow the others to try. The Naim standard leads are very hard to beat.