Roonifying my systems

I’ve managed to roonify part of my system (NDS) with an Audiostore black box. I’m happy with it. I’ve tried to set up LMS to Upnp, but after initial success (Macmini and Lapbook pro) it has left me frustrated (I guess because these beasts are not running 24/7). So my options are to buy a solution: audiostore product, SGC, Raspberry Pi, Allo, etc.

I’ve been tempted by the Raspberry before and now I’ve got Roon working on my main system, I think it’s the cost effective way forward or my Unitiqutes. But where do I start? I’ve got a generic guide to RP but it’s not up to date. I’ve looked on the Roon forum, and here, but I’m a novice.

Could the wise men / women out there in the Naimsphere please help?

Sorry, I don’t recall whether you have a NAS?

If you do you may be able to host lms-to-upnp on it. Either standalone or as part of Logitech Media Server.

Hi - I gave up my NAS to run the Audiostore black box - massive improvement. But I’ve not asked Martin if I can run the LMS to UPnP on his boxes. Something to do this week… or perhaps I could run it on a Qnap?

If I remember correctly you have several Unitiqutes stacked together? Converting all of them to work as Roon endpoints (eg by adding a RPi) means that it’s going to get pretty crowded in that rack, as you’ll need one for each Qute. I guess you could squeeze a Chromecast Audio behind each one and use Roon via Chromecast, as the hardware is tiny. Perhaps better to do it in software (LMS?) if possible but I’m not the best person to say how you should do that.

1 Like

LMS.to.UPnP I have found to be a pain to work. For some UPnP systems it works fine but in some networks it’s pain to to get working.