Speaker Suggestions for SN2 - Mid Sized Woody Room

I’m a newbie here. Setting up my system with Supernait 2. I’ve been hearing good things here about the Dynaudio Special Forty (and others), ProAc, ATC 19 speakers.

My room has a high cedar ceiling, carpet, about 18’ square with an annex. We often play our music low, subtle. Looking to avoid brittle or overly bright. Letting the music shine and the gear to the background.

Music choices tend to be Classical, Jazz (e.g. Miles, Weather Report), World Music, no vocals really.

Which speaker models would you suggest for a room setting like this?

FWIW… I am a little bit biased since with my SN2 I have had the ProAc D2’s and currently have the ProAc D30RS speakers.

My current system is : NAS > XPS DR > NDX 2 > HiCap DR > SuperNait 2 > NAC A5 > ProAc D30RS.

I have demoed a pair of ATC 19 speakers as well and they were excellent as well. The Special Forty anniversary speakers were available for a short time at my dealer but never got around to listening to them so can not comment. They were a limited anniversary edition so availability may be an issue.

At the time I demoed the ATC 19 speakers the dealer had a pair of used NAIM Ovator S-400’s he had taken in trade and I gave them a listen as well. I ended up keeping the Ovator’s speakers which I had for 2 1/2 years and just traded in for my new ProAc D30RS speakers this past march. I have had the ProAc’s for over 2 months now and love them.

Of course this is my system, in my room, with my ears so you should demo at the dealer and at home if possible.

Good luck with your decision and enjoy the journey!

Remember search is your friend you type in SN2, or the speaker’s name that you are looking at and can find information throughout the current and archived forum. The NDX & SUPERNAIT thread is a good read.

1 Like

Great, thanks @seakayaker (and btw-I love kayaking!)

A friend also has the ProAc and speaks well of them, they are definitely on my short list to demo.